superalley.blogg.se

Wine for mac vs crossover
Wine for mac vs crossover













I did not mean to be rude, I'm sorry for the misunderstanding.Īnyway, currently I use linux only few times (I used it more 3 years ago), right now I use an ubuntu virtual machine only to keep myself updated with the linux world. They'll know a lot more about what you want to do with WINE, than I. Magmarock, please please, PLEASE talk to the people on the " Judas does this run in Wine?" thread, like Gydion or adamhm. Rampancy: Yeah, I realize I'm a shitty person to talk to about WINE beyond anything other than "It's good." I realize that my way of wording it wasn't the most accurate (because some limitations in WINE lie in how well it implements some win32 API calls, not necessarily from a lack in features in the host OS).

wine for mac vs crossover

Yeah, I realize I'm a shitty person to talk to about WINE beyond anything other than "It's good." I realize that my way of wording it wasn't the most accurate (because some limitations in WINE lie in how well it implements some win32 API calls, not necessarily from a lack in features in the host OS). In any case I am not aware that there are currently 11 dx app running on linux (sure there are some experiments from crossover, but only 1-2 2D games). not because there is any gap but because right now they started to port dx 10 and 11 to wine and they need time to complete the translation. LiefLayer: As far as I know, wine does not support dx 10 and 11 in both osx and linux right now. but, for now, they do not say anything on the abandonment of the project. sure they will need time to translate everything from opengl to metal. Right now apple added tesselation to metalįrom what I understand before wine has completed the translation metal should be complete. As far as I know, wine does not support dx 10 and 11 in both osx and linux right now. Rampancy: The problems arise when there is a gap between what's available on the host OS (for example, what graphics capabilities are present in the OpenGL 4.1 APIs present in OS X) and what the app wants (say, if I want to try to run a game which uses DirectX 11 :P), and its where WINE's limitations become most apparent. Nothing else - not Direct3D rendering, not OpenGL - seems to work acceptably. To this day, Descent 3 only works for me at glacial frame rates, at 640 x 480 if I use nGlide. Painkiller worked perfectly out of the box with no configuration necessary (and it still does even on the latest staging versions of WINE) Shogo: MAD would simply crash on startup until around the time of the Wine 1.5.x series. All three were among the earliest batch of games I bought on GOG.

wine for mac vs crossover

My favorite examples of how WINE compatibility can very greatly are Descent 3, Shogo: MAD and Painkiller. For example, when it was first released UT came with an experimental unsupported OpenGL renderer. In other cases (like UT) the games came with OpenGL support in one form or another. seeking more performance optimizations, poor coding practices, etc.) used the APIs in ways they weren't meant to be used. From what I understand, a lot of old games suffer from wonkiness even on modern versions of Windows, because programmers at the time, for a variety of reasons (e.g.

wine for mac vs crossover

ini file and the games works like a charm Well, that depends on the game and how well/poorly it uses OpenGL, or how well/poorly it uses the documented Win32 APIs for 2D and 3D graphics. All one must do though is change a line in a. I saw these step by step tutorials on getting UT working and with a less then optimal frame rate. Also FYI it's amazing how many people don't how about games that support openGL natively. Magmarock: Just it just not work or do you get glitches and stuff.















Wine for mac vs crossover